Travel Theme: Dry

I always like to post something a little off, different, unexpected but the obvious was screaming in my ear…a dry river bed in the driest place in the US – Death Valley National Park, California. I visited there with my girls in 2005 and it has haunted me ever since. I regret that I didn’t return during my second national park tour. At first glance this place appears devoid of anything of value but a closer look reveals an unexpected beauty.

Death Valley is also the hottest place in the US. The day we were there it was 114° in the shade at 10:00 am. As we went on our way that evening we all said “I’ll never go back”. But before we finished the hour and a half drive to Las Vegas my heart was already longing for a return trip.

There is something very special about the desert, the quiet, peace and solitude is the perfect prescription for our over civilized generation.

DV_dry river 2

 

Check out this and other Travel Themes

One thought on “Travel Theme: Dry

  1. Pingback: Travel Theme-Dry | WoollyMuses

Been there? Done that? Wanna go there? Tell me about it!

