Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer

Death Valley National ParkQuestion of the day:

What’s your travel style? Are you itinerary and schedule driven, needing to have every step mapped out in advance or are you content to arrive without a plan and let happenstance be your guide?

Leu Gardens, OrlandoI love travel, all types of travel, but I’m particularly fond of my days happily wandering the US; boondocking and exploring…the life of adventure. But I also love planning for a trip. I spent weeks planning my first extended trip west and months planning for my “jubilee journey“. I love planning, I’m a planner and while I do use GPS to find an exact street address I prefer maps for seeing the bigger picture. I love the feel of paper in hand and seeing where a highway begins and ends. I map out trips to new places, this is just part of the journey; planning what beautiful places to visit, when and how long to spend at each.

Great Dunes National Park, CO

But all this planning is just a guide and I rarely, ok never, make it to all the places I planned on. With map in hand and itinerary packed away only to be found when I return home I set out with eyes wide open and observant of any enticing distractions. I love the freedom of traveling the open road and a rigid itinerary takes away from that freedom. With caution to the wind and wind up my tailpipe I head to my first destination but I ALWAYS get sidetracked. Allowing myself the freedom to follow the signs along the road guiding me to some unknown adventure awaiting me in some unexpected place is the sheer joy of travel. In the end locations change, a one night stay turns into five, places are left out to only be regretted later, new jewels in the landscape are found and I always arrive home wondering how soon I can leave again.

Grand Teton National Park, WY

Check out more daily prompts at The Daily Post

Sunday Stills, the next challenge: The Color Brown

 

A BROWN River

P1040718

Turkey Run State Park, Indiana

Check out this and other challenges at Sunday Stills