Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life

New York City

NYC-AAG 2001_0011

Check out the Weekly Photo Challenge

 

Protected Places: Catalina State Park

Catalina State Park is located near Tucson, Arizona adjacent Coronado National Forest and only a few miles from Saguaro National Park. As with too many of my stops along the way this one was too short. I was in the area visiting Saguaro and needed a place to camp. That seems to be the reason I’ve found so many unique places.

11072010 392 (2)

There are great hiking and backpacking trails winding around the base of the beautiful Santa Catalina Mountain and desert landscapes. But unfortunately that’s all I was able to do. There is some fascinating wildlife including 150 species of birds, big horn sheep and a wide variety of reptiles. But what I didn’t expect was the history or I should say the prehistory. Archaeology is important to the area and there are many prehistoric sites and ruins.

11072010 382 (2)